Skip to content

Old Mindset versus Non -conformist

February 16, 2012

This past week 13 -15 February 2012 John Robbie (702’s early morning talk show host) featured the controversy that exists between experienced teachers who are educated but who do not have the “voting paper” (my terminology for the SACE accredited Higher Diploma in Education) that  allows them (legally speaking) to teach at schools or to be registered as permanent teachers.

My qualifications extend beyond the Higher Diploma in Education and include a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and an Honours degree in Clinical Psychology. I have lectured for the John Povey Centre (a satellite department of Unisa’s English department that featured the application of writing English for a myriad of purposes such as for Research reasons, for entry levels in to Professional Business Writing, the compiling of Official documents and Tenders etc). English and Afrikaans are my hallmark subjects.

It is my 4th year that I am engaged in providing  Learner Support to a variety of individual learners from a variety of Johannesburg’s prestigious schools. In my undertaking I appraise the learner wholistically. My psychology training enables me to garner accurate and insightful information on each learner that crosses my threshold. The actual “private tutoring sessions” are the baseline from which I work. In addition I offer both techniques for improving learning as well as mentoring my learners (particularly Grade 12 students) so that a year’s program yields positive results.

Inspiration, initiative, creativity, consistent work and accepting the challenge that comes with “teaching from the heart” has earned me my reward i.e. satisfaction in my current life’s work.  The learners somehow catch “the fire that burns in my belly” and are either singed by it or rise like phoenixes from the ashes.

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

